To the Revd the Minister of Monkley

Chanter 232A, 113

  1. Residence, curate and lecturer: I reside personally in my Vicarage House.

  2. Other benefices: I have no more Benefices than one.

  3. Divine service at other churches: I perform divine Service at Ware-Gifford (a Church about one mile distant from my own) once on every Lords Day alternately in the morning & afternoon.

  4. Frequency of divine service: Every {Sunday} other Sunday (at least eight months in the year I perform divine Service twice in my Church with a Sermon in the Fore-noon on the other Sunday, once, with a Sermon in the Afternoon.

  5. Frequency of communion: Four Times in the year in each of my Cures; the Number of Communicants at Monkleigh about 35 at Ware about 14.

  6. Catechising of children: In every Summer & generally at two different Times in the year in each Parish.

  7. Church fabric: Monkleigh Church is in very good Repair, Ware Church is repairing & will (I believe) be in good Repair in few weeks.

  8. Glebe terrier: I have a Terrier.

  9. Number of families: About Forty.

  10. Chapels: I have no Chapel.

  11. Papists, dissenters and meeting houses: I never heard of any Papists in either of my Cures, nor are there any meeting Houses for dissenting Congregations.

  12. School, alms-houses, hospital and charitable endowments: There is neither public School Hospital Alms-House nor Library in the Parish of Monkleigh.

  13. Charity: I never heard of any Lands Tenements or other Benefactions being left for pious & charitable uses in this Parish.

    Priest's orders and institution: I was ordained Priest Augst 7th & instituted August 8th 1768.< br> I am my Lord your Lordships most dutiful & obedt. Servt. John Walters.

    Monkleigh Vicarage May 4th 1779