To the Revd the Minister of Spreyton

Chanter 232A, 136

  1. Residence, curate and lecturer: I do not reside at Spreyton Vicarage; but am not more than Two Miles distant from my Church. I have been hitherto permitted for various reasons, (which I will beg Leave personally to lay before your Lordship, as soon as I hear of your Arrival at the Palace,) to live where I am; and doubt not of obtaining your Lordship's Indulgence to continue here.

  2. Other benefices: I have <also> the Rectory of North-Lew in this County.

  3. Divine service at other churches: I serve no other Church besides Spreyton; Unless North Lew, which I attend sometimes: and then my Curate officiates at Spreyton.

  4. Frequency of divine service: Divine Service is constantly perform'd in my Church every Lord's Day, with a Sermon in the Evening as well as Morning.

  5. Frequency of communion: The Sacrament is administer'd Five times a year: And we have in general about 30 Communicants.

  6. Catechising of children: On some of the Sundays between Easter & Whitsunday.

  7. Church fabric: My Church & Chancel are both in good Repair. The Church-yard Fence is well preserv'd, and we have all things decent for Divine Service.

  8. Glebe terrier: There is a Terrier of the Glebe Lands &c in your Lordship's office.

  9. Number of families: About Thirty, including Cottagers.

  10. Chapels: There is no Chapel in my Parish.

  11. Papists, dissenters and meeting houses: We have neither Papist nor Dissenter of any kind.

  12. School, alms-houses, hospital and charitable endowments: Here is no Publick School: No Alms House: no Hospital; or other charitable Endowment.

  13. Charity: We have 1/4 of a Tenement called Bush, that was purchas'd lately for ye Poor, which brings about 3 per annum clear; and which is distributed very properly.

    Priest's orders and institution: I was ordain'd a Priest by the then Bishop of Exeter the Second Day of June 1751: And was instituted to the Vicarage of Spreyton the 1st Day of August 1754.

    William Moore, Vicar of Spreyton.
    A Letter by the Post will find me at South Tawton, Devon.