To the Revd the Minister of Yalmpton

Chanter 232B, 512

  1. Residence, curate and lecturer: As Curate of the Parish of Yealmpton, I hope the following reasons for my nonresidence may in some measure justify me to your Lordship. I am married & have a family, and there is bona fide no house in the parish to be had capable of accomodating me. I reside at present & have done so above two years past at Membland, a house situated on the very borders of Revelstock & daughter Church of Yealmpton. The Vicarage house is a very bad one, but has been made tolerably comfortable by a very good old Lady who has resided in it above twenty years, & whose Liberality is very extensively felt in the parish. While I was unmarried, & it was possible to reside, I did so, above three years. My salary is thirty pounds a year. I can conscientiously assure your Lordship, that neither the office of the Church, nor such superintendence of the Parish as may be expected of the officiating minister, is neglected.

  2. Other benefices: Revelstock is a Daughter Church of Yealmpton.

  3. Divine service at other churches: I do not.

  4. Frequency of divine service: Twice on the Lords Day with a sermon in the morning.

  5. Frequency of communion: Five times in the year. The number of communicants between eighty and a hundred.

  6. Catechising of children: Between Whitsuntide and Michaelmas, every Sunday Afternoon.

  7. Church fabric: Yes, every thing is decent and in good order.

  8. Glebe terrier: I have written to the Vicar respecting the Terrier of the Glebe.

  9. Number of families: About one hundred and twelve.

  10. Chapels: No Chapel in the Parish.

  11. Papists, dissenters and meeting houses: I have none.

  12. School, alms-houses, hospital and charitable endowments: No publick endowment of any kind, nor school except for teaching Children to read & write.

  13. Charity: None have been left.

    Priest's orders and institution: Licence to the Cure dated October 5 1774
    Priest's orders July 14. 1776.

    Duke Yonge
    Membland, near Plympton